Lessons and life

10 thoughts on “Lessons and life”

  1. Well I’ve heard of fig roll but not frog roll – is it like toad in the roll? I sympathise! We all need times to play a bit at work and we get on much better with each other when we have that space. Bad news about jobs going. I’m sure you won’t be at risk- maths teachers are like gold dust. Even so, it’s very bad for morale and very unsettling all round.

    Like

    1. Maths teachers are like gold dust indeed, but when they delay giving you the push until there aren’t any vacancies being advertised other than the cruddy schools…sigh. I was in that leaky boat at this time last year, so it’s not very nice. Ah well. Onward and upward!

      Like

  2. Gosh, that’s not so good about the job situation, I really hope it works out well for you.
    As for teaching our son was a teacher, a teacher who enjoyed his work, the boys (all boys) respected him and his need for them to arrive in class with tie properly done up and the shirt tucked into the trousers and the shoes polished….one mother said it was the making of her son….however, sadly, it was a demonic Head and his cohorts who were responsible for 5 years of depression and quitting teaching….he now is an IT Consultant (he Mastered in this) , self employed, and a free lance photographer using his camera skills to make web sites……and he’s more content than ever he was but still on medication….possibly always will be.
    Imagine, a post without sewing – wow!!!

    Like

    1. Sadly hernibs, ‘management’ can turn the workplace into shit. They don’t actually have to work under the new regime, but the staff do and if you cannot ‘hack it’ you are the problem.

      Hope you survive the cuts, DF and I thank my lucky stars that I no longer have to work.

      Like

  3. Nobody to play with here, working home alone:-(. Great admiration for all you teachers out there who make learning fun, but I have never regretted giving up teacher training college after 6 months. Not for me at all! Seems I’m a much better doer than a teacher. 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh god I don’t bother making learning fun. The fun comes in getting the ruddy qualification and being free of maths…for most ordinary people! I love teaching A level, and adult eductaion classes are fun, (apart from the tears) but I have little patience these days teaching much below that level. That’s why I’m happier in college than I was in schools I suppose.

      Like

Comments are closed.