The Right Stuff

20 thoughts on “The Right Stuff”

  1. definitely a bargain fiend… markets and charity shops are good for the odd length of fabric and habby bits but I have to have decent thread or the machine goes into a sulk

    Like

  2. I’m probably a bit of both….I love to find bargain fabrics and trimmings, usually from the Rag Market, but I won’t use cheapo zips.
    My proper job is alterations/repairs so if a zip breaks again after very little use it’s going to reflect badly on me.
    I try to buy bulk bargain lots of haberdashery stuff off ebay from time to time. I know many of us had a fabulous bargain on the Sewing Forum with the wonderful bundles of Coats sewing threads….was it £5 for 50 reels?!…Amazing price!!

    Like

    1. Apart from overlocker thread, and basic black and white, I can’t remember last time I needed to buy thread. Mad. And I’m still using all my old metal bobbinfulls as basting thread. Good Fairy!

      Like

  3. Both really. If it’s for me, then definitely bargain basement or improvisation when I haven’t got the right thing. That’s design oportunity ;-). But if it’s for work, then I get the best I can find, at the best price I can. Don’t like the idea of something going wrong with someonelses garment for the lack of a shilling (and they’re paying for the bits anyway). I’m happy to use cheap and cheerful interfacing and threads on my own stuff, but I like to know it won’t bubble and peel on other peoples clothes, or fall apart! Same goes for zips. I buy YKK or Optilon for customers, but don’t mind putting a cheaper or salvaged one in my own. Got caught out last week with a non branded zip from a supplier I hadn’t used before (and won’t be using again). Lady came for her fitting and the blooming zip wouldn’t go up, even though it had done several times before. The teeth had started to pull away from the tape (and it wasn’t tight on her)! So…. I’ll be putting in a better one for next fit, grrrrrr! Better now, than after she’d taken it, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have made some things when the thread (Gutterman!) cost more than the fabric!
    However, I have learned that cheap thread tangles in my machine and the frustration, annoyance and inconvenience balanced against the couple of quid for a good German engineered yarn is worth every penny.
    What about you only get what you pay for? – Better quality, easier to use and lasts longer???

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh Fairy! I think you must be the long lost twin, I never knew I had…. lol! I did all of that and like you until I found the forum and Craftsy, never realised, what a lot of wonderful secrets there was to be found. It totally transformed my lovely hobby into something so much more. I am now more of an addict than I ever was and find so much more pleasure, with my new found knowledge, and also I now have the cash to indulge myself. Like you times were hard bringing up a family.

    Like

  6. Bargains for me too, the cry of ‘How much?’ can be heard when I go fabric shopping. I was brought up with the Huddersfield Monday market and Dewsbury markets – oh how I miss a good rummage. I think I should have shares in Abakhan.

    Like

    1. I think it’s definitely got a lot to do with living in what’s essentially a market town. I remember my Grandad taking me round the markets when I was so small that all I could see was the edge of stalls and loads of fags at eye level! [That’s cigarettes for any non Brits lol lol]

      Like

  7. I really, really need to make a trip up to Birmingham before I get much older. All those wonderful places to buy fabric. I hear it all calling to me……………….

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m seriously considering moving from sunny Southern France to Birmingham if those photos are real actual proper sewing sweetie shops – give me a bargain and, yes I use cheap thread – my sewing machine can’t read the label, it is a tart and goes with anything!

    Like

  9. All rag market except for the very top one, just a generic image of a market selling Gutermann’s threads. The stall with the three assistants is about four times the length you can see, and sells an amazing selection for knitting and sewing bits and bobs. I think it was one of the first stalls I got properly acquainted with many years ago- the fact that it’s still there in exactly the same format tells you how good it is. I’m trying to nail which one is the one at the bottom, I think it’s a great favourite for lace, elastic and zips. Honestly there are at least a dozen just like it, not to mention the actual fabric stalls. And thats not including the outside stalls. It’s great, come join us!

    Like

  10. Well as a teenager I sold fabric on the markets of Yorkshire and Lancashire so I have never been a fabric snob. I still like to get a bargain, but I am fussy and I don’t buy inferior stuff. I stick to natural fabrics where possible and like to make classy outfits. For zips etc I buy them on the market or the internet. I couldn’t pay £2.50 or whatever at John Lewis without coming out in a sweat.

    Like

  11. My upper limit for fabric is £5 per metre as I generally sew clothes that require a lot of fabric. I don’t waste money on branded notions and thread is whatever comes close to the colour(s) I am sewing, I even buy the fluffly cones in the bargain basket. Market stalls are great for habby and zips. Shepherd’s Bush, Hackney and Walthamstow are my fabric haunts.

    Like

Comments are closed.