What a Gray Day!

6 thoughts on “What a Gray Day!”

  1. Looks like you’ve done a lovely job on both those shirts. A shame about the first one, but I think you’re right that the shape isn’t flattering at the back. If that was me I’d still wear it anyway, as it looks fab from the front. You just need to make sure you never have your back to anyone when you’re wearing it. Also you’ve got me lusting over the luscious silk chambray you used. Musn’t. buy.more.fabric. Repeat….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Both look lovely, but that New Look is fantastic. I think I have that one. Maybe need to move it up the pile of to dos!, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like the NL one very much. It seems to harmonise with your shape in a way that the other one doesn’t. I do like the Donna Karen as a pattern – it is fun and stylish, and agree that Hila looks sweet in it, but it does indeed look tight on the hips and loose on the bust and not that flattering on the shoulders. So (you asked for honest) I would either try it in a softer fabric with some balancing to get it comfortable at the back, or step away from the pattern.

    Like

    1. I agree- I just looked at Shams’ version, [http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.co.uk/#karan] and it seems she pretty much changed the entire shape of the sjirt, keeping just that back yoke. I also loved the ‘sleevey wonder’- what an ingenious fix!
      I’ve already cut out another NL one in a mauve/lilac Thai silk that I’ve been hoarding.

      Like

Comments are closed.