Acting out?

9 thoughts on “Acting out?”

  1. I love costumes but I’d hate to be responsible for organising them! I’d be no good at that.
    I read an interesting piece the other day about Angels costumiers in London….I’d love to have a rummage through their rails.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Go to the RSC if you possibly can- they have all these fabulously prganised rail, and some complete sets, but also insanely chaotic boxes of wondrous THINGS. A whole warehouse floor of boots and footwear. Rails of petticoats shifts and shirts. And famous names on tags in lots of things. You could fondle Patrick Stewart’s leather doublet [faint]

      Like

  2. Everyone becomes a diva when they are being dressed for free – at least all my dancers do – or it might just be my perception – I find it hard to swallow all this fussiness when they are being charged zilch, but will accept it more readily if they are paying good money for a dress?

    Like

    1. Oh some of them were quite ridiculous- supposedly they were in the company for the joy of singing [although most had very mediocre voices which quite surprised me]; they mostly played peasants and wore tatty old rags but always tried to sneak outrageous jewellery past me; many were [or had been] teachers, but behaved like naughty kids, etc etc. I remember when we did ‘Carmen’, the producer wanted them all to look shiny and sweaty when they came out ofthe ‘cigarette factory’ so I manufactured ‘sweat’ from glycerine, and had it in a spray bottle. Most submited with grace to having sweat applied liberally, but I had to chase one around the wings. Hilarious!

      Like

      1. The jewellery thing is pretty common though isn’t it? We almost need someone to check the adults before they go on stage to remove inappropriate stuff – the thing that gets me most wound up? Body glitter – bloody stuff is almost impossible to completely remove from costumes – why the heck do they think they need it?

        Like

Comments are closed.