At Last!

28 thoughts on “At Last!”

  1. Glad you still have your job. I love these fabrics and colours which really flatter your colouring. With your lovely slim legs and ankles I think you look better in a slimmer fitted skirt. I wouldn’t have expected this pattern to turn out so flouncy.

    Like

    1. I don’t mind the flouncy, but there is more room than I need on the hips, even after taking it in. I migt faff, it depends on if I need to do anu unpicking…not so keen on that idea!

      Like

  2. Emmmm…. +ve and honest criticism here – but the skirt’s just not ‘right’ at the front – too baggy over your tummy and drag lines at your thighs. I don’t know how to fix this except your own solution about taking it in at the sides. Possibly not cut on the straight grain?
    Good points – perfect length, excellent colour and incredibly impressive Hong Kong seam finishes (you obviously have toooo much time!).
    Great rescue on the Liberty blouse, as that fabric is far too good to lie in a box.

    I’m glad it’s raining somewhere else other than here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep the skirt will need a fiz- but ew not right now I think. It’s agood style, I just can’t face unpicking all those frayable seams this week. I WILL be wearing it in September though…

      Like

  3. Phew, job safe until the next threatened round of cuts. Your day out looks gorgeous and who doesn’t like a cream tea. I have to agree with sewruth that your skirt is not right, but the colour goes well with the funky and modified wrap tops.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hooray – some good news at last! 🙂

    Not surprised you wear that funky top a lot – makes you look pretty svelt. You already know that the skirt will look great if a smidgen more fitted…

    Like

  5. Colours all good. I like the rescued peacock top best with it, but all work. Does the skirt need taking in at the sides slightly, high hip to flounce?

    Like

    1. I think that’s the general opinion! It’ll be a bit of a pain- I can take in at the sides, but would need to taper to the flounce, ]which will make it too foofy I think] or I need to use the side front seamlines…which means faffing with some of the binding on the lower seams BUT makes taking in the lining easier as I can use the pleats. Hmmmm. If I don’t bite the bullet and do it soon, it won’t get done, and that fabric has been criminally unused since purchase!

      Like

      1. Would this work. Pin out the bulge along the side seam (or where it would be if there isn’t one) Start at high hip and angle it to nothing at the flounce. Stitch it from the inside and ignore the lining being a little fuller.

        Like

      2. It would- except I’ve already sort of done that, and I think it might make the hem too foofy in comparison with the ‘body’ of the skirt, I’ll put in on inside and out and faff a bit tomorrow

        Like

  6. So new to sewing I can’t offer any advice….just wanted to say hello, and your blog is just a hoot! I laughed all the way through your about me and this post. Lovely colors – the peacock top is my favorite.

    Like

  7. The colour and style looks good, but as already identified the skirt needs a little TLC. Put it away for a little while and a solution will present itself. I.Love the funky top – it looks fabulous on you.

    Like

  8. Yay! Great news on the job front.
    The problem with the skirt,[ in my honest humble and entirely correct opinion], both in this version and in the previous, is that it is MY fabric and just resents you not giving it to me. [I told you when you bought it to give it to me my precious…….] It would look lovely in my stash……Tee Hee

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GLENDA!!!!! About rated time missus! Where ya bin bab? Anyhew, yow ain gettin moi fabric so bugger off…*coff* *ahem* back to normal dialect. The skirt will be fixed, the fabric loves me not you, and whatever happened to that astonished textured aqua stuff I helped you liberate from Barry’s several years ago [probably the same shopping trip if memory serves me…]?

      Like

  9. Seems you’ve made a decision about the skirt – we all agree the colour is fab on you! Just wanted to say that following your raving on about stylearc I bought 2 patterns yesterday – Flo and Tani. (Nothing to do with the 20% reduction at all!) Much faffing bout with printer setting which was for some unknown reason printing at 121% (shame I didn’t notice this until I’d printed both patterns – grrrr) and now I have both ready to rock -well, would be but don’t think I’ve got anything suitable (does it really need stretch?) for the Flo.

    Life has got very boring and quiet on a certain forum – ho hum – no arguments or lively discussions – no fish-slapping requests, can you believe that?

    Like

    1. I’ve peeped into the forum from time to time, and it is indeed very dull now. Ah well. As for Flo- I’ve made it in stretch wovens and stretch jersey- it is pretty slim fitting, so if you plan to go for non-woven, add generous seam allowances. You may wish to do that anyway as the StyleArc patterns use minimal allowances, and I prefer something to play with!

      Like

    2. Dull, it’s floating face down in the water. I no longer even log in and read offline. I switched off private messaging a while back, but no-one is going to miss me. Anway back to Fairy, I am sure you will sort the skirt and don’t let Glenda get her hands on the fabric.

      Like

      1. Cut out the Flo – found a woven stretch remnant just large enough – sewing up tomorrow – would be great if it fit out the pack!

        Like

  10. You probably do not want to hear this but “make a muslin” might have helped before you put all that great work into bindings and linings etc. The color is great and your funky top works really well to divert the eye up towards your face. The puckering would drive me nuts and this may be something to hand over to the dry cleaners and let them steam the wrinkles out…you never know! I like the flirty shapes and maybe the next version will fit better with the bugs worked out..fingers crossed! Glad you got some relief on the job front!

    Like

    1. I know, I know, but I’m so impulsive lol. StyleArc patterns have always been such a good fit that I was too optimistic. It’s sitting in limbo for now, waiting to be salvaged again!

      Like

Comments are closed.