Steaming On #7

25 thoughts on “Steaming On #7”

  1. Oooh…That’s great!
    Love it.
    Hand sewn buttonholes!!?? I haven’t attempted a hand worked buttonhole in years but mine used to look like frayed holes after I’d finished.

    Like

    1. I doubt if these would pass very close inspection- I was too impatient to faff about getting proper buttonhole thread, so it’s bog standard cheapo, waxed and used double. Meh, good enough is good enough!

      Like

  2. Wow! That’s absolutely fantastic. What skill and imagination- but it’s what we expect from you, of course. After wearing this, you won’t want to go back to wearing civvies.

    Like

    1. Cheeky! I think loads of dressing up/fantasy stuff IS remarkably wearable, and the aim with these colours is to be able to keep them going for quite a while, changing things up a bit: ie different bodice/piratical shirt/worn with trousers and so on. We shall see! Maybe we should all go steampunk crazy and have a blogathon on it

      Like

      1. There are some wonderful dressing up patterns in the mainstream (yet sometimes dull, ahem) pattern companies. I note that your pattern is Simplicity and the have quite a range of Steampulchritude patterns now. Have just been admiring a couple of McCalls ‘costume’ patterns – one that’s all peacock feathers and another that looks like a reincarnation of Emma Peel (so maybe channelling Avengers next????)

        Like

  3. Oh yes the peacock one is amazing- I think the black ‘leather’ one is channelling ‘Black Widow’…looks like it to me anyway. I’m just getting stuff together to start on wife’s costume….watch this space

    Like

  4. The jacket is fab, Elaine. I think, however, that you do need something underneath the ‘bustier’. Look forward to seeing the next stages.

    Like

    1. Fear not, I wouldn’t expose all my middle aged jelly to the world by wearing it on its own. If ever worn without the jacket, it will be over a chemise and probably with added straps. WITH the jacket, it’s fine,

      Like

Comments are closed.