Steaming On #8

11 thoughts on “Steaming On #8”

  1. No sooner said than she is off at gallop. For the waistcoat, what about using a standard pattern and moving the centre way over? Just saying.

    Like

  2. Gosh, I was so unaware of the genre, but now I am beginning to understand. I really like some of the elements.

    In terms of the asymmetric waistcoat that would be pretty easy to draft. In the mean time take a shell top, transfer the bust dart to the waist. Now create a full pattern (ie not a half), draw in the new front edge along the line of the right hand dart (eliminating it), separate, add SA, create facings for the new front edges. Mark buttons and button holes. Make sure the back is close fitting. Good to go.

    Like

    1. Oh blimey I hate drafting! This sounds terrifyingly complicated. I think it will be a typical bodge job in the making…worried now. Good job the trousers were insanely easy, and only took me half an hour last night.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You could always use the blouse pattern body/back bits, elongating the front and cutting out the shoulder. I would leave a good overlap and give it a bit more ease. I would also use a good stiff interfacing or maybe a layer of canvas to keep the shape. You might have to add a dart or a princess seam to keep that smooth line over the bust/torso. I would be tempted to put a bit of boning in the seams too to stop the wrinkling.
    Absolutely love the outfit ideas. The accessories are fab. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. strangely enough I had debated using a blouse pattern to save time- she has a well-fitting wrap one, I could maybe just use one front and re shape the back to get most of it…hmmmm food for thought

      Like

Comments are closed.