Steaming On #12

11 thoughts on “Steaming On #12”

    1. We’ve escaped staff development so far, probably because there’s hardly any staff left after the purges. We’ve currently staffed 2 of 8 GCSE classes, and that’s just at our site. There are three others. Glad it’s not my job to sort it out!

      Like

  1. Wow, you are busy. I like the colour of your taffeta. B6254 looks great. I have not been too impressed by any of the Autumn releases this year except the McCall’s Laura Ashley dress and it is not for sale in the UK. Typical. I might just go give then another eye over now as I missed the two you picked out and they are great. Xx

    Like

    1. Cut out and ready to sew- I had to get ‘creative’ with matching up some other fabrics and colour blocking a bit. I’m not convinced that I’m very good at it though, let’s see how they balance out…

      Like

  2. I’ve just invested in those 2 Butterick patterns so I’ll be interested to see how you get on. I’ve cut out the coat dress in a double-sided fabric that’s a bit like boiled wool but is many artificial so it’s a coat rather than a coat dress.

    Mother of R – it’s always worth investigating the pattern sales on the American sites of Vogue, Butterick , McCalls- they often have sales. You can join for $10 a year to get a further 20% off. They do very big reductions in their sales so even with UK postage can work out cheaper if you do your sums and if you buy a few at a a time BUT you do have to keep to a purchase of less than £15 to avoid customs charges. So 3 Vogues is OK or (usually) 7 Buttericks/McCalls. Of course this encourages you to buy a lot of patterns…I don’t need any encouragement.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the heads up, Tamnymore. I used to be in Club BMV but gave it up as I was just not sewing enough. I think that Vogue et al. now only sell through a third party site to the UK but that might have changed since I last looked. It really put me off. Have you tried sewingpatterns.com? They have some good sales too on the Big 4. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. MoR, I too have given up Club BMV because they hiked up their prices. No, you can buy direct from Vogue et al on the US site. Am waiting for a delivery!

        Like

Comments are closed.