Of Corset is! #1

12 thoughts on “Of Corset is! #1”

  1. I would pick the bronze. It is a fabulous colour (s). I haven’t made the one with the bust gores but still do think that the Dore runs large (and I definitely can measure and read instructions, possibly even at the same time). It’s a very useful pattern to cut your corset-making teeth on. I like the Atelier Sylphe ones. They are taken from original corsets in the owner’s collection and come one-sized. You have to grade them to fit. Well worth the effort. Xx

    Like

    1. Lol! Well apart from the ‘cup’ looking a bit generous at first fitting, everything else was bang on, so I must obviously run large as well. Strange don’t you think? Maybe they’ve changed their sizing guide to reflect customer reviews? I shall be looking Atelier Sylphe up now..although the thought of that extra effort leaves me cold!

      Like

  2. Great to see this pattern finally getting used. Have you found the lacing method which allows you to tighten your own laces? It involved leaving two loops in the middle of the rows of eyelets which you use to tighten the upper and lower sections.

    Like

  3. It seems I am late with my input but I would say bronze too. I did giggle about being able to turn round in the first lacing. True story. A friend had her wedding and bridesmaids dresses made by another local dressmaker (something of a relief to me I must say… no that isn’t the story but it would be a good one) and was standing close to our group when she called her senior bridesmaid. Said girl spun round quickly … and her dress stayed where it had been. I was ordered not to say a word. Just as well as I was temporarily speechless!

    Like

Comments are closed.