SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 1-#8. Green Jacket- Bounding On

17 thoughts on “SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 1-#8. Green Jacket- Bounding On”

  1. I haven’t been about much lately as life seems to have taken over but I’ve read all the details of this jacket and all I can say is that you have done an amazing job. It looks fantastic and the detail inside that can’t be seen is great. I hope you get lots of compliments on your outfit and will be able to get loads of wear out of it.

    Like

    1. Thanks…looks like wool buttonholes are winning thus far. I love the effect of the piping too- with these colours, it looks a bit reminiscent of a gent’s leather bound jacket…quite hunting-y.

      Like

  2. When piping corners take two stitches across the corner. When slashing piping around curves etc cut on diagonal not straight. You are doing great work. Think buttons and button holes give a more secure fastening than snaps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The corners on this are so sharp, and there are 3 very close together at the front hem, that I didn’t even try turning-coward. I also think that by overlapping, the neck ede corners are doubly reinforced too…I’m probably wrong lol!

      Like

  3. I also like the wool bound buttonholes – in the BBC archive “What we Wore” Ann Ladbury gives a demo on bound buttonholes. Overall this will be an absolutely fantastic coat.

    Like

  4. The jacket looks lovely so far! You’ve done a great job with the details. There’s no such thing a too much, and I love the bound buttonholes. I prefer the wool ones though. Top tip on the spiral steel; get continuous spiral steel if you can get it. Cutting and tipping is piece of cake, and you always have the correct length on hand. Probably cheaper, too. I used it for my first ever corset, and it was a walk in the park 🙂
    I enjoy following along on your project!

    Like

  5. I don’t think the bound buttonholes would be too much, I think they look fabulous! I also agree with the commenter above with my love for the vintage Singer buttonholers.

    Like

  6. This is looking good.The piping is a nice touch. I am going to vote for the green bound buttonholes too. I think that they look fabulous. I bought a Singer buttonhole attachment a couple of months ago and am yet to give it a whirl. I have absolutely no idea where to start with it. Looks far too complicated for my Luddite brain to comprehend. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.