SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 1-#9: Buttonholes

16 thoughts on “SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 1-#9: Buttonholes”

  1. Those bound buttonholes are totally gorgeous. That’s the kind of thing I dork out on. I’ve always said I love the construction part of sewing more than the finished garments. I think it’s because I’m a giant nerd and the architect in me has a giant nerdgasm every time I have to finite sew anything. All in all it looks amazeballs! Sorry you didn’t have anyone to lace you up!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That jacket is looking wonderful. I’m glad you found the Ann Ladbury demo – I’ve used the same type of buttonholes on practically everything I make for outerwear. Even used the same method for a pocket (but bigger of course 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Just watched the BBC archive video by Ann Ladbury – why can’t the Great British Sewing Bee make complimentary programmes like this? She’s brilliant! None of the 21st century hmm and ahhing like you get on YouTube, she just does it… I think we should start a campaign using our TV licence as an excuse – to bring back this type of programme.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Ruth that Ann Ladbury is what we need today. I have a couple of her books that I got in charity shops, and following your last post I looked up the BBC archives and really enjoyed them, and bought another of her books. Your bound buttonholes are just great, especially grouping them. This jacket is coming together beautifully.

    Like

    1. I must say I’m inordinately fond of both the buttonholes and the spacing! I’m stuck usinga tablet right now hence awful typing. I can’t upload pics or do the final blog on this or the planning posts on the second pack. Most annoying!

      Like

Comments are closed.