Crazy Squares for scrap busting

22 thoughts on “Crazy Squares for scrap busting”

  1. Actually these are really very nice. I wouldn’t have thought of quilting in this way (on a backing piece) but it must be alot easier than the hand stitched hexagonals I once had “fun” with. The colours look great together. Also a very good tutorial. Thank you. As for 50m of green bias binding, well – who knows what the heck you will do with that. (I add this thought to the one about Dawn counting tins of tuna).

    Like

    1. Cackle! I don’t count this as quilting, I really and truly hate that, but true patchwork in the spirit of the original: making something from nothing. This appeals to my miserly side. I may or may not use the binding, but I could gift it to sewing pals? Anyway, think how many metres it takes to do full Hong Kong finish on a jacket… And as for Dawn’s tin-ventory, it’s a very housewifely thing to do!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is perfect for me!! I have mountains of scraps, and I was certain those squares needed to be measured and calculated and what not. Just too much hassle, and life wasted on fabric bits that are not for wearing. But now we’re talking 😀 Thank you for sharing this important life skill!

    Like

  3. Brilliant tutorial, thanks for sharing it. I only have 4 different fabrics of my Christmas fabric and am thinking now that maybe I should cut a backing piece bigger and go it on a slightly bigger scale for my table runner. I wish I had your scrap collection! 😀

    Like

  4. This is a fabulous idea to use up scraps. I have seen a similar tutorial but it was a “quilt as you go one” I have SO much scrap fabric that I can definitely see some of these in my life sooner rather than later. Xx

    Like

  5. This is a great tutorial – thank you. I have heaps of scraps too, and this looks like a really fun way to use them up. I have just started a quilt as you go bag for my mum’s xmas pressie which is the first time I have tried this technique and it has gone really well – but is very uniform rectangles, I like the crazy – devil-may-care – ness of just cutting out any old shape and bunging it on. Much more fun! Will keep this in mind, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello, I’ve only just found you – through that most unique authoress of Pretty Grievances 🙂
    Anyway, I’m glad I did, not least for this tutorial. Thank you. Your scrap squares are surprisingly effective. Looking forward to discovering more,
    Baci
    Sally xx

    sarsaparillasal.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.