SWA(SP)P 2016-Wildcards-#2 Breeches Toile

12 thoughts on “SWA(SP)P 2016-Wildcards-#2 Breeches Toile”

  1. Hilarious yes, but these look very large over the hip/thigh. The originals I bought were roomy (think about being able to squat easily with knees open to simulate a horse) but not massive. The elastic idea is a very good one – and neater to tuck into boots. I like the cavalry twill, and what about a herringbone jacket?
    Great progress being made!

    Like

    1. I’d wondered about the voluminous-ness but they are a period pattern, from 1910, so that may account for it. In any case, these aren’t for riding [I hate horses, nasty bitey pooey monsters] and I quite like the exaggeration and silly factor for the steampunkery. It’s easy enough to change my mind, the size grading is just along those curves so I can chop some off if I want. I assume they’ll drape somewhat in the real fabric as well. I’m veering towards the stripe, but I don’t think I could carry off an entire outfit in beige- it kills my complexion. Something bold and solid for the jacket.

      Like

    1. And a happy new year to you all! I like the knitted rib idea, nice one Ruth, thanks. As I’m top heavy, with no bum, I think I’ll stick with lighter trousers and darker jacket…I’ve just spotted a stunning bright green cotton moleskin. YUM

      Like

  2. These are interesting. My Dad used to have a pair of these very jods that were part of a set of a very old hunting pink outfit. They were made from a very thick twill and as “The Material Lady” mentioned they were roomy but not as voluminous. They had lovely suede patches on the inner leg which buttoned up. I am not sure if they are still at Mum’s house? They were fab. We had lots of random horsey stuff. I still have my Dad’s hunting bowler, it’s a perfect fit for me. 🙂 Xx

    Like

    1. The pattern does say to button the legs, but as they’ll be inside boots, I thought the stretch panel was a better fix. It also gives instructions for the patches, and I’ll see how they look when I get it together.Thw thigh curves are graded out quite a lot with each waist size- as I have a big belly, that allows for big bum and hips too- but I don’t have ’em. It’ll be easy to grade them in once I get cracking though. The twill is on its way.

      Like

Comments are closed.