SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 2-#9: Frilled to bits

11 thoughts on “SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 2-#9: Frilled to bits”

  1. I am going to second the satin overlay one. It looks beautiful. So glad that you like the Fishers shears. I love mine, even thought I have abused them mercilessly. Oh, that sounded a bit “Fifty Shades” (not that I have read it just heard the quotes). Perish the thought. 🙂 Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m seduced by the crisp and shiny satin too and I completely agree about the rotary cutter, that’s been my experience too. Even with brand new blades it’s still just as awful. I’ve tried changing technique, i.e. not pushing it, and watching YouTube for tips entirely without success.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad it’s not just me! The ruddy thing made nicks all along my metal ruler, but barely perforated the fabric. Now that’s just perverse! As for that satin, I stroke it every time I walk past and get a little smug smile…

      Like

    1. It does rather stand out doesn’t it? I’m oddly taken by the deep purple selvage fringe as well, so I think that may be inserted somewhere as well. Once everything’s made up, I should have plenty of time to play with the trimmings- they’ll be attached by hand anyway to avoid crushing the pleats if/when I go round curves and corners. I want to play with another strip of the origami trim next. Those sequins need to go somewhere…

      Like

  3. Satin on taffeta for me too. Funny you should talk about rotary cutters, I started with a Fiskars one and just couldn’t use it, then I changed to Olfa for P&Q and I don’t have any problems – unless the blade is getting blunt. I don’t use it to cut out sewing projects unless I need to make binding. The deeper P&Q rulers also help, a normal ruler isn’t as easy to use I find. It’s ‘horses for courses’ use what you find works for you. Glad you got the pinking shears sorted.

    Like

Comments are closed.