SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 2-#15: I’ve been to Button[hole] Moon!

15 thoughts on “SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 2-#15: I’ve been to Button[hole] Moon!”

  1. Buttonholes will never be a pain in the ass again. Welcome to the buttonhole attachment owners club (you can recognise us by the heavily buttoned garments and large grins).

    Like

  2. Beautiful buttonholes. My modern machine has stopped doing them so I bought the Singer attachment for one of my old machines. Do you by any chance have any good sources of how to use the thing? To me it looks like some sort of mediaeval torture device and I don’t know where to attach it too. *ouch* 😀 Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I got mine from the wonderfully knowledgeable Helen Howes[http://helenhowes-sewingmachines.co.uk/], and it came complete with manual. She sells them separately too. Highly recommended!

    Like

  4. I very successfully used the button hole attachment on my machine when I first bought it 8 or 10 years ago. Of course, I didn’t keep using it regularly, and now can’t get it to work. Sigh. Must revisit it. Such an accomplishment to be able to crank out beautiful button holes. Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Apparently [more Helen Howes’ advice] they will sieze up if not used. You need to take the cover off, set it to its widest/longest setting, and gently rotate the operating screw, cleaning out all the congealed goop. The oil it, leave it to work through, wipe off the excess, and try again. Welcome!

      Like

      1. Oh, I hope I remember this. I won’t be home for almost 2 months. My MIL told me to oil all moving bits, but I hadn’t thought about the button holer. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.