The sewing gods have forgiven me…

14 thoughts on “The sewing gods have forgiven me…”

  1. The gods are definitely happy – either deep blue or deep purple or even charcoal but not black and certainly velvet. Nothing else would do for those beauties.

    Like

  2. Yes these are very lovely but I think quite challenging. I would be like the lady who had them and never worked out what to do with them. So you solution will dazzle and impress me, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It may take some time- but imagine leaving these in a drawer and having someone take them to a charity shop when I die? Or bung ’em for re-cycling. Criminal. They must have a life! [on a mission to find the perfect pattern]

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your wonderful find. How absolutely amazing these are, so beautiful. I think that they would look lovely on some sort of Mucha-inspired silk velvet coat, either a cocoon coat or a adorning the hem of a proper full, swirly redingote. I think that Folkwear have a lot of patterns that you would adore. Do you know of them? You can buy them on the Vena Cave Design website. One of these days I will give the cocoon coat a go. Xx

    Like

  4. I actually made up the Folkwear coccoon coat, in a demonically-possessed silk velvet, for my wedding. And never wore it, because the evening was so warm…I’m planning to re-use that velvet at some point, it’s too beautiful to hang in a dress bag forever. But it didn’t suit me in any case, too full. Hmmmm

    Like

  5. Those are beautiful! No suggestions, but a plea for pictures aplenty, when you decide what to do with them.

    Always a good time to remind us to clean our machines, by the way.

    Like

    1. I’ve already tried the coccoon [see previous comment] and it’s just not me…I’m still looking for the ideal style. If someone justifies the style for me, maybe earlier, as the shapes are more me

      Like

  6. And you didn’t come back in to show me what you’d bought?!!!! Fie on you!! As punishment I claim at least one of those appliques for the back of my next denim waistcoat……. Or is that why you didn’t come back in to show me as you knew I’d claim at least one??? Lovely to see you both yesterday xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was fab, pity there’s never enough time for a real booze and natter lol, ah well, summer’s coming. And you aint getting even ONE missus- there they were, 2 doors away from you, and you didn’t hear them calling? Shame on you!

      Like

Comments are closed.