A bum deal

16 thoughts on “A bum deal”

  1. Lovely flowers! I did the crotch curve thing a few years back – it told me what I pretty much knew already – losing tonality in the rear and growing a nearly equivalent bump in front.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yep, I am feeling your pain. I seem to be reversing my curvy bits and my bum is drooping with age. Need to try to stop that. My Mum (in her mid 80’s) bought some of those pants from TKMAXX with the rubber bum shaping in them. I was peeing myself laughing but maybe she is having the last laugh? Bought one of the bendy rulers for that very reason but haven’t used it yet. Crotch curves use some weird Lovecraftian geometry. Was thinking that maybe I should just do the equivalent of an FBA for my “Mum Tum” on the front. 😦 Xx p.s. I was an 8 once. Oh the shame bit mmmn the cake. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. CAKE! Mother’s ruin is cake, not gin. lol I don’t think the geometry is any trouble, I just can’t be bothered with ‘proper’ drafting, I’m more of a hacker. We’ll see if it pays off tomorrow I suppose…

      Like

  3. Well it may be boring, but I would fall even more wildly in love with my husband if he were to work out the puzzle that is pants fitting! This will be so great for your wife to have some smart new clothes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Crotch curves are just weird – cut them bigger to make them smaller. I’m in favour of your hack it and see if it fits technique, then hack a bit more. We must have ‘studied’ at the same School of Sewing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Then hack I shall! I worked out [while asleep, as you do] that my inseam levelling took length from the back crotch, so I plan to add that in at the waist end…hackily. You can tell if we studies at the same school- if your mortar board is also made from twine, twigs, and bits of blue tack…

      Like

  5. Great way to start the day with a laugh. The comments made it even better. “Turning into a pudding basin” has to be the best description yet of this frustrating change. That said, have you heard of Katy Bowman of Katy says? She’s a biomechanic and has both a great explanation for why the bottom flattens and suggestions for how to fix it (squat!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always had a flat bum- it’s muscular, but I carry no fat there [all on ma belly]. I have a ‘high square hip’, which apparently means my gluteus minima are bigger than my maxima lol [bad Latin plurals there I think]. Anyway, it’s all about wifey for now…

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.