What’s the plan, Stan?

12 thoughts on “What’s the plan, Stan?”

  1. For what it’s worth – calm down, slow down and keep things in perspective. Marking season seems to start earlier and earlier each year and it really interferes with our sewing…. but we still volunteer and meet our commitments. Breathe in, breathe out and sew; straight seams are the best remedy not complicated stuff like corsets or fitted button down shirts – surely they can wait until July. Your health and wellbeing is waayyy more important and we don’t want to lose your amusing and witty contribution to our sewing world. BTW – SWAP pics? so we can vote..

    Like

    1. aw shucks *blush* I like the marking, and it improves my teaching [I think]…plus I need the dosh. I’ve actually been very thoughful about it this year, and chose which units to accept, and which exam board to mark for, rather carefully. It will be easier than last year. The meds are largely doing their job, and I manage to walk away from 90% of the things which infuriate me. I’ll never be the type to walk away from everything though. Simple sewing bores the hell out of me, and I end up still stewing, so the more interesting projects work better for me. At least I think so! The pics were going to be taken by a good friend tomorrow, but she’s had to cancel, so we’ll be making do in the back garden as long as the sun stays with us. I only hope I can work out how those galleries operate…

      Like

  2. I actually like looking at other sewing tool kits, so not bored. There’s that rush of fellow feeling (clapped out sleeve board cover) and chance of a good idea to pinch (pin cushion huge enough to fall over). Hope you feel well soon.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sorry to hear that you haven’t been 100% and I hope that things are settling down and that you are feeling better. Just had a look at the goodies bought by your other half, I can relate to all except the adjustable wrench – what will you use that for? I’ve used most of the others -usually acquired from DH’s tool kit although he appears to have acquired my small headed hammer. A very thoughtful present – lucky you. The sleeve board and ironing board are very familiar – wonder where I’ve seen them before!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Nice tools! I need to make a wrist pincushion, maybe I should make a big standard one as well? I use magnetic dishes, but I tend to drop them so the plastic breaks. An old fashioned one wouldn’t have that problem.
    Do get well and in balance, I love your posts! And what is that hat/crown/thing at the end? Is it a historical item, or made for a show?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent to have a tool kit of your own. Since The Management has no idea what to do with anything faintly practical (other than marrying her quickly before someone else realises how useful she is) all tools are mine. The Missus is definitely a keeper.
    Be kind to yourself and whilst still having goals don’t flog yourself to death if you don’t feel great. We are all astoundingly impressed by your creations without dazzling us by how quickly you can turn them round.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Buggeration, sorry to hear that you have been feeling a bit off. Not meaning to sound trite here as that is the last thing I would mean but have you ever fancied meditation/mindfullness classes? I used to feel like I was either going to explode with work-related stress and/or cry but gave them a go and am now an oasis of calm, well most of the time anyway. 🙂 Loving all your tools. Is that a chisel for your button holes? It is amazing just how much useful sewing stuff overlaps with *proper* hardware. I have a pair of F-off sized bolt cutters for cutting flat steels that wouldn’t look out of place in B&Q. Was actually looking at bench grinders. The things we do for our art. 🙂 Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh bench grinder! The tablets are slowing me down a tad, which will do for now. I probably should be open to meditation etc, but my extreme cynicism precludes any such ‘hippy s***’…I’m a terrible person. Sigh. The buttonhole chisel [for such, indeed, it is] is my latest addition to essential happiness, now that buttonholes have entered my life in a really big way [more on that later]. It has an elegant, murderous efficiency which gladdens my withered, blackened heart-like organ. Get one!

      Like

Comments are closed.