Boning up [again]

11 thoughts on “Boning up [again]”

  1. Oooh corsets. Now we are talking. I just added that Asylum corset to my eBay wishlist. Actually meant to mention it…..great minds , etc. I would like to give it a go too. I have traced out the Sew Curvy Sophia pattern and am going out for fabric for it tomorrow as I am back in Glasgow for the weekend (I have most of a roll of herringbone coutil left so will use that for the strength layer and cover it in silk). Might just have to buy that H&A pattern in the morning as it is a cracker. Going to draft one from C&C or one of the Jill Salen books for myself too. Sewing corsets is great fun. Maybe we could “corset-a-long”? Xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. UPDATE: I just bought the “Asylum” pattern. I have never used an H&A one before but I like the back. Don’t know if it will look ridiculous with my enormous bosom out the front but them’s the breaks. I have some very goth fabric for it too. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Corsets are on my ‘To Do’ list. I’ve fancied making one for ages and bought a corset kit a few months ago.
    Never made one before and I’m never likely to wear it but I just feel that I need to have a go.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t go out anywhere special very often, so I’ll have to wear it while I do the housework. I’m sure I’ll get it out the drawer occasionally to stroke it fondly.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I love all this talk of corsets. They’re my most recent (but still virtual) obsession. The Sophia kit is on it’s way to Italy as I type, and I downloaded Scarlett’s free waist cincher pattern last month. I’m excited to get started – but fearful too, so it’s great to see what you’ve done. Your laughing moon is beautiful, and I’d never heard of fan lacing; can you point me in the direction of a good tutorial? Thanks.
    Baci Sxx
    ps I’ve been da-da-dumming Rock Lobster under my breath for the last week 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.