Sizing things up.

12 thoughts on “Sizing things up.”

  1. I agree. I hate shopping, and rarely buy RTW, but when you have no idea what the size you pick up equates to it becomes a circle of shell. We all know that people appear to be getting larger. Maybe it’s time to stop fooling ‘ourselves’ that we are smaller than we think.
    (Also,for the benefit of some shoppers out there, just because you managed to get into it and fasten the zip doesn’t mean it fits. Rant over)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. (Lovely wedding photos!). The difficulty for those of us sewing for others is when someone says ‘I’m a size 12’, and protests about the business of measurements.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely wedding photo, fairy. You still have those great legs. Moving on, back when I was young in the 70’s and 80’s, I wore a rtw size 12. Now that I am old, it’s a 16. I wouldn’t want to be any bigger, but I don’t care that I am no longer a 12. There was a lengthy and interesting debate on PatternReview about the pitfalls of sewing for others and the difficulty of getting customers to accept that ready to wear sizing is not the same as the pattern chart. Well suck it up, princess or stop wasting my time and go away.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love your choeng sam (and daughter’s dress). Such shoes with curved straps are very fashionable at the mo.

    I’ve detected some vanity sizing in Menswear too (namely Gap) where husband asked for 38″ inch jeans and got raised eyebrows. We measured his waist again with the shop’s tape. Still 38″. But the ones that fitted and which he bought were 34″. That’s a big difference.

    I think I should point out that this was a year or two ago and (‘what’s that?’) yeah, he says he much slimmer now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol yes I remember the size discrepancies between reality and fantasy in my ex-husband’s jeans. Of course, the fact that they usually continue to wear them long after the ‘muffin top’ has become a whole bakery doesn’t help!

      Like

Comments are closed.