The lunatics have taken over the Asylum!

16 thoughts on “The lunatics have taken over the Asylum!”

  1. Oh, I wish I was there! Lincoln is lovely, and the cathedral absolutely amazing. Having the area flooded with steampunks must have been absolutely brilliant.
    How is your ankle? And where did you stay? I suddenly got visions of the lovely B&B I stayed in last year, flooded with people in costumes.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Glad you had a great weekend in spite of the ankle, which I hope is now feeling better. You both looked very “swish”, all the hard work really paid off.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like great fun, and your outfits are stupendous! I somehow never saw the 1980 FLash Gordon film. When I was in 6th or 7th grade, we watched an old Flash Gordon series of movies at school, which when I look it up seems to have been made in the 1930s!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I knew nothing of Lincoln or its sites (and want to go now). What a good idea to hold a festival. Is this something that’s been picked up after the success of Whitby (again, somewhere I’ve not been)? Do you have extra large luggage to accommodate these voluminous outfits? I can imagine you (or a porter) wheeling a trunk to your B&B!

    I know the film well and particularly remember seeing it for the first time because Ornella Muti was a big star in Croatian media. I was always really, really miffed because I wasn’t able to fancy the actor playing Flash.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Lincoln festival has been running for 8 years, and isn’t connected to Whitby, although many people go to both and their style bridges the gap!
      Our luggage requirements were pretty major, although not as much as the people who have loads of guns and spaceships and time travel machines…we took 8 garment bags [each stuffed to bursting], a large suitcase, a gigantic box of hats, and several small bags, plus our own clothes rail. Nothing compared to some!
      I personally go a bundle on Ornella, and General Kala [always love a villain] but big blonde men leave me cold lol

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That Steamstress Squadron look a formidable lot – you’d need to have your raw edges neatened and finished……
    Brilliant and fun way to spend a Bank holiday weekend and wear your fabulous clothes.

    Like

Comments are closed.