Art of Africa

10 thoughts on “Art of Africa”

  1. Oh sweetie, it’s gonna be fabulous!

    Good tips for sewing wax.
    I like the idea of flatlining protecting the garment from the wearer! I was a bit smelly after my rush-hour race home but because my dress was so loose, it didn’t stink at all; it was just me that did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol flatlining serves many purposes! I think that, historically speaking, they were rather more pragmatic about bodily functions and their effect on clothing. Think of all those wonderful split drawers and combinations!

      Like

  2. When you said cycling jacket I was thinking of a modern garment. But then I realised Penny Farthing cycling… Wow, oh Wow. This is just super. I love it. I really enjoy working with African prints but I have only done them with smaller prints so pattern matching hasn’t been so challenging. I had a very nice Kente cloth scarf from Ghana. I left it in a meeting room and one of my colleagues (of Malaysian origin) called to ask if I had left “A Frikkin scarf” downstairs?. Maybe this is just A Frikkin Cyling Jacket?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AbFabFRICKINardian! Wowsers I love that…I’m just amazed at how flattering the style is- it flares out over the hips a bit too, which contributes to the shape. 75% of the ‘tiny waist’ look was illusion and clever cutting.

      Like

  3. “I need to make a visit to the markets to get some nice large black buttons” – honestly, any excuse hehe. I’m just the same, its surprising how we never have just what we need. Seriously, I love the pattern and that interlining is very neat. A good job done. Looking forward to the finished piccies, I’ve never used the waxed print.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m smitten. There’s already a skirt cut out in another wax print, and a couple more parcels arrived recently…oh dear, a new addiction! Suitable buttons are usually in my collection, just not this time: the only ones large enough are all different, which wouldn’t normally stop me, but this jacket has more than enough going on! I’m trying a ruse, offering to buy the missus lunch in the city centre. Cough. Don’t grass me up!

      Like

  4. Great teasers – I’m on catch up so will no doubt get to the reveal soon.
    How wide is the wax cloth? I almost succumbed (again) this week but managed to escape. It’s only a matter of time….

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.