Control Panel- Shaeffer dress #1

10 thoughts on “Control Panel- Shaeffer dress #1”

  1. The black and white combination is total madness. Who’d wear that? Traffic would literally stop, thinking they’ve come to a zebra. But your version will be lovely and kind of steampunk too with the full skirt but a novel design. Make sure you show us on you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I will once it’s all sewn up. Shouldn’t take long now, as I won’t need any fastenings or fuss. Mind you, the hem might take some work! The black and white hurts my eyes. Originally I fanced making it in a plain and print crepe combo, but couldn’t find any colours that really rocked me. I do need a new LBD though…

      Like

  2. Dizzingly complicated…. but the more I look at the design, the more I like it…the resulting bias on the skirt section will be fab, very clever designing from Claire Shaeffer. I’m surprised you needed a 20 though, she’s normally quite generous on her sizing. I would have had to make a toile (esp for the bodice section), but we know you’re brave and fearless 😉

    Like

    1. It surprised me! I normally cut 16 or 18 in mainstream patterns, sometimes with an FBA if I can be bothered or the style is close fitting. I just double checked, and the assembled [basted] dress measures just 44.5″ around the bust. I’m 44″. So that’s that really! There is no discernible way to attempt an FBA in a dress so complex, so my hands were tied. When I did a quick try on, it skims me fairly well, considering how fat I am, and with no real waist/hip shaping. The skirt drape is astonishingly lovely.

      Like

  3. And now all you have to do is unpick the hand basting………
    I like couture sewing but normally over a few weeks, not days! You fabric combinations are way better than the pattern envelope. I’d like to see this one finished on you and wear with a pair of high heeled boots

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.