Dawn’s coat #1

8 thoughts on “Dawn’s coat #1”

  1. Black astrakhan sounds divine but this lambswool is going to be beautiful. i agree, if you are going to be putting in the effort needed to make a coat it might as well be from something worthwhile. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a gorgeous fabric and the lining is a beautiful match. How lovely to make a coat for Dawn. I am sure she will look fab in it. I would love to make a coat but don’t know if it is a bit beyond my skill set so I will be watching its creation closely. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Coats aren’t at all difficult- although it depends on how much tailoring you go for. I first made one back in the 80s with a very limited skill set, and just went for it. It was one of those typical 80s huge baggy things with a tie belt. I remember it had to have about four pairs of shoulder pads to sit right! I don’t think it was lined [can’t remember] but it got worn for YEARS. When I was shoving pushchairs around, I shortened it to jacket length and changed the buttons, then wore it until it died. Go on, have a go!

      Like

    1. Well a good coat lasts for years anyway-and a warm full length coat will do a lot of duty at funerals etc [sounds awful, but it’s a fact of life!] She’s getting very excited about this now, so I think I need to start cutting pretty soon…

      Like

Comments are closed.