Edwardian skirt & Eton Jacket #2- Jacket complete

22 thoughts on “Edwardian skirt & Eton Jacket #2- Jacket complete”

  1. Looks wonderful!

    I’m waiting with bated breath to see your skirt. I just bought a bolt of kimono silk to use to make an outfit for a wedding I’m going to in July. (OK, technically it’s the second bolt I’ve bought, ostensibly for the wedding. But how can I resist 12m of gorgeous silk for about $25 Canadian dollars including shipping?).
    I’m thinking I may be able to squeak out a skirt if I either make each gore a bit narrower at the hem, or piece the fabric. The lady from Truly Victorian said the gores are about 41cm at the hem, and the silk is 35cm. And I’m only 5’6″, and I’m going to be wearing flats… I guess I’m going to have to make a toile. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ‘Only’ 5’6″? That’s MAJESTIC woman! I’m a dwarfish 5’3″ lol I’m going to have to decide sharpish to wear heels or flats with this skirt, as I want to hem it this weekend.
      I think you should piece it-the seams will be lost in all the folds anyway. The silk sounds like a complete bargain, jealous!

      Like

      1. Thanks! My husband and son are tall, so I’m used to be mocked for being short. 🙂

        I’m sure I’ll regret sharing my secret silk source :), but if you search on eBay for ‘kimono bolt’, a whole world of wonders opens up. There’s really only 2 challenges: the fabric is narrow (about 35cm), and some of the fabrics with patterns (like large clusters of flowers) have been printed/woven so that the image matches up when it’s sewn into a kimono. So that can be tricky if you want to use the yardage differently.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Go on! That would be really cool. EVERYONE should steampunk, it’s a brilliant excuse to dress up, eat cake, drink gin if that’s your tipple, and just be very silly, while looking brilliant. Splendid!

      Like

Comments are closed.