Dawn’s Coat #3: Cutting Edge

9 thoughts on “Dawn’s Coat #3: Cutting Edge”

  1. That is such a neat buttonhole, I must watch the video, thanks for the link. I remember Ann Ladbury from my days watching Pebble Mill, she was great.

    Like

    1. I am rather pleased with it- not so neat on the back because of the fraying, hence plans to interface first with very lightweight fusible. Hope you enjoy the video- I bet you’ll get the giggles about the ‘young and gay’ and ‘wiggy Val’. The level of sexism in the show is outrageous!

      Like

    1. Thanks missus! The sewjo was gone for quite a while, and I still find it hard to go in and start…but once I do, all is well. The buttonholes will improve once I sus the stabiliser problem

      Like

  2. Looking good – great buttonhole. I know you said the back was less so because of fraying (and I’m sorry this is probably too late for this garment) – I have had similar problems in the past and with careful note of position (so the holes line up) I have had success by making a ‘window’ (buttonhole without lips) using silk organza to make the hole and sewing the resulting (hopefully) matching hole to the back of the buttonhole. Possibly not well explained but if you want a better explanation let me know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Yes, this is the plan for the facing- my handstitching was just on the back of the main coat piece to prevent it from falling apart before I get that far. The organza is pressed and waiting. I learned from previous bad versions that this is what’s needed!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.