STITCHER’S GUILD IS BACK

17 thoughts on “STITCHER’S GUILD IS BACK”

  1. I never joined here. Is it worth the effort? I joined Pattern Review back in the day “meh”, BurdaStyle, which I loved but it lost the plot a bit and The Fold Line, which I haven’t really used. I like Ravelry too but am not really much of a knitter. Being on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, Instagram and blogging is too much as it is. Do you think that there are too many platforms now? Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! I started using stitcher’s guild last year because I decided to enter the SWAP. I found it quite difficult to use to be honest, having got into plenty of habits while using The Sewing Forum. I used to be on TSF a LOT of of course, until … one too many fish slappings occurred. I’ve been on Ravelry in my very rare and brief knitting bursts, don’t do Twitter or Instagram as I don’t have one of those new-fangled phones!Never used The Fold Line, so can’t comment. I’m on a lot of FB groups though, and that seems to do my blog plenty of good. The new Stitcher’s Guild incarnation may be easier to use than the old, who knows? Meanwhile, I’m happy here and FB-ing!

      Like

      1. Textilia is being hyped as ‘Ravelry for sewing’. I’ve registered, but my work internet blocks it, so I haven’t had a chance to poke around yet.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hi DF. I ‘knew’ you from TSF and was pleased to find your blog.
        I joined TSF because it was UK based (nothing wrong with US sites, but they recommend things that we have no access to), but I was a lurker rather than a poster.
        Gave up a while back when another regular and helpful poster was ‘unpersoned’ for reasons that were never clear (and heaven help anyone who asked). Started lurking again recently and now it has vanished. Forums are great for like-minded contact, but a real pain when they disappear.

        That coat is gorgeous 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks- I’m very pleased with the coat. I used to LOVE TSF, it was friendly, fun, easy to use [especially posting pics etc] and had a real community vibe…then a certain admin really got a lot of folks’ goat/goats! Not to worry, plenty of pals made, and have come with me here..

        Like

  2. Seems like TSF has gone completely. No announcements or nuffin just closed down. I’ve not been on recently so not sure what was going on. I’ve got used to Stitchers Guild now but find Textilia a bit too new with not much content. PR is brilliant for pattern reviews but their friends of PR offers are all for American retailers and their competition prizes ditto. I lurk but rarely post – like here really!! Fab coat for D. Bet that would fit me a treat!!

    Like

    1. TSF gone? Blimey- I was on there a couple of weeks ago taking copies of all the pics that I posted that were lost when my PC crashed. Just as well then! The coat wouldn’t fit you, oh no, not at all. It has spikes inside to repel imposters…

      Like

  3. Yes, TSF does seem to be off-line. There was no warning so I’m sure it was some kind of technological problem. There’s certainly no intention to shut it down – it was all very sudden – and a lot of people will be pretty upset.There was been some discussion about that it’s on old technology and potentially liable to problems. It has been off-line before but not as long as this. Hoping it will be restored.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alas, it would probably only take a minnow to slap it as there were definite technical issues on TSF. These sites are dependent on a few willing people who have the time and technical knowledge to keep them running. I’m not sure how it will be resolved. Perhaps a sacrifice of some Liberty tana lawn to the sewing gods…. oh no, that’s going to far… I’ll sacrifice some polyester instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice to see you all, yes I’m a TSF er too, wonder if it’s gone for good but I joined you DF at the start here. TSF hasn’t been the same for a while now and I’ve been there since 2007. Keep up the good work DF, I love to read about your makes, forays to the Rag Market and look at your piccies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been lovely seeing how many people have stayed sociable- to me, that’s even better than all the shared experience and info. Must get another rag market trip organised for half term methinks…

      Like

  6. A dig round on Google gives one of those company listings for TSF (non-trading company presumably cos of donations) which I presume is/was the Admin person. It says the company was wound up on 17th January this year so, if I am making the correct interpretation and that company represents the site, this might explain why the site has disappeared. Ah well, onwards and upwards. I’ve joined Stitchers Guild and hope to keep contact with people. Echoing maliw’s words, keep up the good work DF. Would love to join you on one of those rag market trips but is just a tad too far for me at the moment. We need to persuade you to come oop north some time, DF. I reckon if you visited Immanuels in Burnley you’d go in and never come out again!!

    Like

    1. I saw that on Google and was confused…makes sense though. I wonder what happened to make them write it off? One fish slap too many? A shame, I can thank TSF for some wonderful friends, a bridesmaid, and invaluable guidance in wedding dress production.

      Like

Comments are closed.