Issy Fit

27 thoughts on “Issy Fit”

  1. Love it,I like the colour too, you may find that its a top you get quite a lot of wear from. I’ve got that on the table ready to cut out. Style Arc seem to like the asymetric hems.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’m not sure, but the missus likes it. Maybe it should be a size larger? I’ll run up the stripey version, cos the fabric cost nothing, and see how it looks. I thought your one looked good, but I have a couple of things in my wardrobe that never come out either…hard to get it right all the time!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure about the size on you. I think one size up would give you some breathing and eating room, but I do like the neckline and ruching.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Now you see, I’m rubbish at this ‘cos I thought you could’ve cut it a size smaller, it looks roomy around the top back. For what it’s worth, I’d say the fabric is a bit wrong for the style, not enough drape and ribbed material seems to add inches where we don’t want.
    I did see some slinky fabric on the Rag, a nightmare to sew I know, but it might be worth a punt, it has the right properties for this style. I’d also lengthen the sleeves to three quarter and either shorten the hem or lengthen it to knee – it could work well as a dress.

    I have this pattern but after reading reviews and wearing a rtw Mary Portas top exactly the same, I shelved it, I ended up chucking the Mary one because it didn’t feel right, too long and too baggy around my scrawny neck. Yours however, looks lovely around the neckline and the colour really lights up your face.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do like getting all the input [no point in only getting empty ‘oh it looks so cute’ type comments is there?] I’ll knock up the stripey one, maybe sleeveless as there is only a smallish piece, which I think is why this ended up short sleeved too]. If it’s no better on me, this pattern will be abandoned. There are many more after all!

      Like

  4. I’ve got this pattern but never made it up. The neckline is really lovely, but I’m not sure about the ruching, like others said maybe go bigger. This is more my style, and you’ve reminded me I might have the fabric for it, a very lightweight jersey, which doesn’t have much vertical stretch. Do you think that would work?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like it but I agree the sizing isn’t right on this one. You suit that colour though. I’ve got that pattern waiting in the queue but I suddenly went off the fabric I bought to make it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Neckline and ruching nice and colour lovely, but if you’ve got anything in the side seams could it expand by a cm? In a different knit it might be baggier, so perhaps that won’t be a guide for the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Not sure. Perhaps it’s the size as others have suggested. I’m not much good at analysis of this type! I find the SA Annika more flattering and would make that. I like the idea of assymmetry, cowls and ruching but have never quite got them to work. I like the colour of this top.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes- apparently it’s ‘sweater knit’. I haven’t used it often, but it’s becoming very popular. You do need to sew it up as soon as it’s cut, or it can start to unravel. I got a nice remnant the other week, apparently ex-River Island. Maybe, maybe not, but it’s nice quality.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve sewn this top too, and it quickly went from my wardrobe to that of a friend. It’s a terrific design, but every time I try things that are ruched/gathered across my belly because it theoretically will be more “flattering” I feel uncomfortable in them and self-conscious about my mid-section. I suspect that the “ruching across the belly is slimming” theory is for women who have defined waists and a small pot belly – not ones with significant central rolls like mine! It’s a bit of a dilemma for me.
    All that said, I really do like this on you! The colour is especially fabulous. And I DO like that pattern.

    Like

    1. We’re very much the same shape I think, I just have a bit more boobage. All my weight is round the middle, and it can be a pain finding clothes that aren’t just tentlike, but also don’t hug too close. I don’t think this one has made the cut, I’ve worn all the rest that I made at the same time, but not that one. Ah well, they don’t all work!

      Like

Comments are closed.