Reese ‘Un to be Cheerful

31 thoughts on “Reese ‘Un to be Cheerful”

  1. Why anyone would design a knit dress with a zipper is beyond me. I have yet to find one that actually needs it. And the slip thingy they added….why? I line all my knit dresses just like I do my wovens because they lie so much nicer. That being said, I absolutely agree your red version is so much happier than the envelope and you look amazing in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In this instance, the skirt lining would have been just as good [easier] with a slip worn separately. The bodice bit actually does a really good job of holding the draped front nice and snug, so I quite like that bit. It doesn’t need lingerie fixings though!

      Like

  2. Another great title! You made a lovely dress despite the typical Big 4’s inability to put together a decent process for a knit. I’ve got a pattern for one with an underlay, overlay and lining. It needs major rethinking before I’d start it. Style Arc are much better at this.

    Like

    1. They are, but I prefer the larger seam allowances! Style arc for up to date, Vogue for class and unusual looks. Works for me lol [As for the titles, I’m a pun-monster according to the missus, they just pour out]

      Like

  3. You hit it out of the park with this, it’s terrific and it obviously feels perfect on too. You done good, a perfect match of pattern and fabric, a subject I’ve been thinking a lot about lately but I didn’t think long enough before making a white linen knee length coat with drawstring waist and a hood 🤔. I hope the dye works.
    .

    Like

  4. You’ve turned her (the pattern model’s) frown, upside down! with this lovely red version. I adore the red (maybe Liberty) fabric. It’s stunning. I love a good red! Don’t see enough red fabric. I do want to go to your Birmingham rag market! Maybe one year. Go, one more twirl…. anything that makes work more fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It looks fantastic! I had been avoiding that pattern because the fabric at the underarm looked to be swamping the model. But on someone with a fuller bust I think it looks fabulous!

    I’m sitting here muttering at the pattern gods… I’ve been looking for a swing/trapeze dress pattern for wovens for honks. I bit the bullet yesterday and ordered the Merchant and Mills one ($25 Cdn before shipping and tax; eep!). I woke up this morning and discovered Tessuti has just released a new dress -the Bella – that would have been 99% perfect at half the price. Ah well, at least I don’t have to tape together a PDF, I suppose…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Merchant and Mills are very ricey. I have one that I got years ago, and haven’t touched since because having splashed out on it, I realised it isn’t really me. Or wasn’t. It may be now lol. It needs some classy fabric though, so may have to be a special treat

      Like

  6. Wow! So much amazingness going on here – £4 a metre fabric (yay!), beautiful colours, and beautiful dress. It looks absolutely gorgeous on you 🙂

    Like

  7. It’s marvellous – you’re marvellous! I am so with you about the ruching on this one too. I can tell from the photos how much you love this dress on you, and justifiably so!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a lovely dress- and nice to find something that looks fairly fitted, but doesn’t make me look like a balloon in a frock lol I do want at least one more of these, maybe LBD, or maybe a bright, vibrant green. I just have to wait til the right fabric presents itself now

      Like

Comments are closed.