Not very rom, these Coms

17 thoughts on “Not very rom, these Coms”

  1. Nice. The kind of undies you can wear while visiting the garden in the morning, fertilising the peonies… With liquid fertiliser, mind you. (No kidding – abundant stories of old aunts doing just that).
    We’re those combinations common? In the old stuff from my great grand aunts, we only found separates – but quite a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol- my granddad loved to water the compost heaps! The combinations became very popular in the Edwardian years, as the line of the clothes got longer and leaner, and these made for less bulk at the waist under the corset. By the time that corsets started to turn into girdles, undies changed a lot, and my nan’s generation switched to vest and bloomers. Hers were always heavily patched!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have some underwear buttons found in the little drawers of my Great Grandmother’s treadle sewing machine. Small flat soft discs which you sew through. They have no holes. (I also inherited the sewing machine) She bought the machine second hand when she got married in 1906.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have taken pictures, they’re mostly still attached to card. It appears that you bought whatever number you wanted and the card was cut with scissors following the lines. Some are marked at 3 1/2d for 6 (20 are on that card), another is marked at 7d doz (12 on that piece of card) and another marked at 4d (8 on that card)

    Like

  5. Not like dorset buttons, they’re perfectly plain. I did make small buttons when doing 17th century reenacting, these were like little balls. A circle of cloth, stitch a smaller circle in running stitches and while drawing in the stitches push the excess cloth inside to make a hardish ball button. They work surprisingly well, I suppose it was to use up the leftover bits although as most clothing was cut in either straight lines or at an angle there wasn’t much left over.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oohh! I can see those being perfect sleepwear, especially in a nice flannel. No having to strip down for those chilly middle of the night potty visits.

    Like

    1. lol- I had thought of wearing them for lounging around watching TV- but it could alarm the postman if I answered the door in them! I don’t do nightwear, but that’s a brilliant idea!

      Like

Comments are closed.