SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 2-#7: Getting in trim

16 thoughts on “SWA(SP)P 2016-Pack 2-#7: Getting in trim”

  1. This would be nice round a neck edge. It reminds me of the origami edging that was in a Burda mag back when it was BWOF. I think you must have the patient of a saint to make this trim. It looks like a fiddly and long-term job. Will be lovely when it is done though. I have Fishers pinking shears and they cut beautifully. I have of course abused them to within and inch of their lives trimming lot of corset layers so mine are in need of a sharpen but that is after about 10 years of hard use. I can heartily recommend them. Xx

    Like

  2. I love the pleated trims and enjoyed Kenneth King’s articles in Threads magazine (when I used to get it). I never tried them as I haven’t had the occasion to but if you have the right garment, go for it.

    Like

    1. I think the trims are going to be very important for that Victorian look- more is definitely more lol. I’ve ordered Fiskars pinking shears, fingers crossed they can cut this ruddy fabric…

      Like

  3. I have wandered down this rabbit hole; I have a wood burning tool for this job, but have held off actually using the tool for the activity (some crazy notion about not inhaling melted plastic). This week, however, it’s game on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Forget about shears and buy yourself a rotary cutter with a serrated wheel . It works very well and as long as you don’t run over pins is much more satisfactory than pinking sheers

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That looks both mind bogglingly time consuming and very compulsive. I agree trim is going to be essential on this outfit.
    Firefly! I haven’t come across anyone else who has watched this series. I loved it. Castle too?

    Like

Comments are closed.