Stripe for the picking: Edwardian shirtwaist #1

16 thoughts on “Stripe for the picking: Edwardian shirtwaist #1”

  1. Like the oldfashioned way of sewing gathers, I am rubbish at getting them even, going to try that method next time.

    Like

  2. …or you could pair it with the red and black 10 gore skirt. Either way would be a heaping helping of sensory overload.

    Like

  3. I’d never heard of this way of sewing and getting even gathers. Thanks, I will definitely try it. I quite like the mad stripes but unfortunately for me it would be migraine inducing.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, that would be great. I’m always looking for an easy or foolproof way to do these things. Gathers are my particular bugbear. I hate doing them as they often get caught up or are uneven. I’m just a bodger at heart.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t mind gathers- although the eighties and all those foofy net petticoats nearly did for me! The knack is giving it all a good tug perpendicular to the gathering thread to even it out before stitching

        Like

Comments are closed.