Stripe for the picking: Edwardian shirtwaist #1

16 thoughts on “Stripe for the picking: Edwardian shirtwaist #1”

  1. Like the oldfashioned way of sewing gathers, I am rubbish at getting them even, going to try that method next time.

    Like

  2. I’d love to see the striped shirtwaist with the wax print divided skirt… I wonder if you can give a camera vertigo? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. …or you could pair it with the red and black 10 gore skirt. Either way would be a heaping helping of sensory overload.

    Like

  4. I’d never heard of this way of sewing and getting even gathers. Thanks, I will definitely try it. I quite like the mad stripes but unfortunately for me it would be migraine inducing.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, that would be great. I’m always looking for an easy or foolproof way to do these things. Gathers are my particular bugbear. I hate doing them as they often get caught up or are uneven. I’m just a bodger at heart.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t mind gathers- although the eighties and all those foofy net petticoats nearly did for me! The knack is giving it all a good tug perpendicular to the gathering thread to even it out before stitching

        Like

Comments are closed.